Ladies Section

Welcome to the Ladies Section of our website where you can find out more about what is going on in the Ladies Section, including competitions, match fixtures and social events.

Ladies Committee


The Ladies Section is organised by a committee of members led by the 2020 Ladies' Captain, Clair Howell (pictured below).

Clair Howell.jpg

Other members of the Ladies Committee include:

  • Deidre Cave - Ladies President
  • Jill Bullimore - Ladies Vice Captain
  • Nancy Allen - Ladies Secretary
  • Avril Carey - Assistant Ladies Secretary

together with Sherrell Chuter, Angie Lee & Kay Reynolds


Ladies' President

Our Ladies' President is for 2019-2020 is Deidre Cave


Ladies AGM - Saturday 18th January 2020

The Ladies' AGM was held on Saturday 18th January where Clair Howell was elected as Ladies' Captain and Jill Bullimore Ladies Vice Captain for 2020

Kari & Clair broach.jpg

Kari Joyce handing over the Ladies' Captain's broach to Clair Howell


Jill Bullimore.jpg

Jill Bullimore - Ladies' Vice Captain


Lady prize winners 2019.jpg

Lady prize winners from 2019 - well done ladies


Ladies Charity coffee morning - Thursday 28th March 2019

80 ladies attended the Charity coffee morning in aid of TimeNorfolk where £737 was raised.

Charity coffee.JPG


Charity coffee 2.JPG



Ladies' Captain's Day - Tuesday 16th July 2019

Competitors embracing the theme "Pretty in Pink"

Captains day 2.JPEG

Captains day.JPEG


Chloe Rowswell is Eaton's Ladies' Club Champion for 2019


Presentation by Judith Lee


Ladies's Captain's table for Christmas Party 2019

Christmas party.jpg


Ladies' Captain's Day - 2018

A very successful Ladies' Captain's Day was held on Tuesday 17th July.


The winning team - well done.



Runners up - well done.



Ladies' Coffee Morning - 2018

Lynton Johnson entertained over 50 ladies to a flower arranging morning.

Lynton used to run the Refectory at the Cathedral and was very involved with the Cathedral flowers.


Ladies Invitation Day - Thursday 10th August 2017

The ladies had a wonderful day for their Invitation Day with the results as follows:-

ImageThe winners with an amazing 101 points were Mary Gamble, Ann Lockhart, Sharon Allen and Mary Tuddenham

ImageClose second with 99 points were June Deans, Sue Hutchings, Jane Gurney-Read and Sue Hosking

Imageand third were Sammy Martin, Linda Beevis, Monica Comer and Ali Mack with 96 points on countback.

Well done to everyone.


Ladies Championship 2017

Chloe Rowswell won the Ladies Club Championship for the second year running. She beat Karen Young in the postponed final and was presented with the Judith Lee trophy and silver spoon out on the course having birdied the 15th to win 5/3 and be crowned Ladies Champion for 2017 - Well done Chloe.


Ladies Club Champion


Semi Finalists


Results of Closed Meeting - Tuesday 8th August 2017

Mrs Russell Price Salver (silver Scratch 36 holes) - Karen Young 156

Mrs McEwen Smith Salver (Bronze Scratch 36 holes) - Kari Joyce 193

Mrs Gowing Cup (Silver Handicap 36 holes) - Sharon Allen 143

Mrs Gowing Cup (Bronze Handicap 36 holes) - Carol Sharkey 141

Mrs E G Cooper Bowl Best Nett Score by past or present Captains - Sue Wybar 73


NLCGA Junior Girls Fowler Trophy - Wednesday 2nd August 2017

Three junior girls entered the NLCGA Junior Fowler Trophy this year.

Nellie Ong, aged 11 who now has a handicap of 35, played with Ros Wilkinson in the 18 hole competition. Holly Allen and Isla Marshall played in the 9 hole competition for girls without a handicap. They played with Sharon Allen and Celia Pheysey.

Holly had a little extra help as her grandfather caddied for her!

Everyone enjoyed the day and the County and Thetford Golf Club were very warm and welcoming.



Midsummer 9 holes and supper

On Thursday 20th July nineteen ladies played in the Midsummer 9 holes competition. It was played on a beautiful summer evening with very good scores recorded.

There were two sets of prizes as they played off two tees.

Liz Pierce won teeing off the 1st and Carol Sharkey teeing off the 10th.

Jenny Plunkett and Monica Dorrington came second and Barbara Warren and Deborah Halliday came third.

Karen made a delicious supper of salad bowls, fruit bowls and yummy Danish pastries. It was so beautifully presented as per usual.



Ladies Captain's Day - Tuesday 4th July 2017

On a lovely sunny day Monica Dorrington held her Ladies Captain's Day.

Ninety ladies turned out to play in an assortment of red, white and blue outfits.



The overall winners of both the "best turned out" and the golf competition were Sarah Absalom, Carol Riseborough, Margaret Defoe and Rita Bridgeman


A great day was had by all.




Mrs Neville Coe Salvers

First place - Betty Gaston and Ann Lockhart

Second place - Christine Wright and Jan Gibbs

Third place - Barbara Warren and Doreen Young


4 ball betterball competitions for 2017

Ping Four Ball Better Ball - wiiners Monica Dorrington and April Cooper

Coronation Fours - winners Diana Lorence and Clair Howell

Austrailian Spoons - winners Barbara Ayers and Ali Mack


Spring Event - April 2017

Over 50 ladies played in the Spring Event which was played over 36 holes.

Karen Young won the Silver Division Scratch Cup (155) and Judi Walker the Handicap Cup (148).

In the Bronze Division Sherrell Chuter won the Scratch event (198) and Annine Ng the Handicap (150).

The cups were presented by the Ladies' President, Sue Wybar.

In the picture The Ladies' Captain, Monica Dorrington, is holding the cup for Sherrell Chuter who was unavailable to be at the Prize Giving.



Artichoke Fashion Show - Thursday 6th April 2017

Over eighty people watched the fashion show put on by Artichoke of Swaffham and Ely.

The whole evening was in aid of the Ladies' Captain's Charity, the East Anglian Air Ambulance. Over £600 was raised from the event and a good time was had by all.



Past Ladies Captains' Lunch

A very successful Past Ladies Captains' lunch was held at the Club on Thursday 2nd March.



Ladies Section News

The Ladies AGM held on Saturday 21st January saw the above members elected onto the committee for 2017.


Ladies Social Events

Social events are held throughout the year. 


The Ladies Section have achieved the following in National / County competitions

Margaret Defoe qualified in the England Golf East Region Medal at Thetford, with a creditable 6th out of a field of 120, for the England Grand Medal Final to be played at Frilford Heath on 11th August. Good luck to her.

Eppie Zandvoort made the cut in the second flight at the English Seniors Championship played at Ross on Wye and finished 17th.

Chloe Rowswell qualifed 9th to go through to the Matchplay stage of the Norfolk County Championships at Thetford. Unfortunately Chloe then lost in the first round to Jo Herd, a former County Champion.

Well done to everyone for their achievements.


Congratulations to Chloe Rowswell


Congratulations to Chloe Rowswell who has been selected to play for the County 1 Ladies Team.

She will be playing in County Week, which is from 20th - 24th June at Bishop's Stortford Golf Club.


Congratulations to the Gillieson Team

Congratulations to the Gillieson Team for beating Richmond Park 3-0 on 12th June 2016.

Sally Benton

Sharon Allen

Chloe Rowswell

Mireen Jones

Monica Dorrington

Sue Jackson

Thank you also to all the ladies who supported the team, despite the rain.